culinaryramblings

Culinary adventures from around the world

Grandma’s Soft Molasses Cookies October 19, 2011

Filed under: Dessert — meb926 @ 4:02 pm

In the comfort food category…Grandma’s Molasses Cookies.  These spicy cookies will warm your tummy on the chilliest fall days.  I loved when Grandma made these when I was little.  They were just so yummy.  I loved the sugary coating and seeing if I could bite only on the cracks. One of my most vivid memories of my grandma includes sharing molasses cookies in her cold farmhouse kitchen.  These cookies are best fresh from the oven (as most are…) but they also stay fresh for a few weeks and are very tasty when slightly hard.

Grandma's very distinct handwriting...don't worry about giving Sylvia the dome lid, though. I'm pretty sure she already has it!

I used 1 cup of butter, 1 cup of sugar, and substituted half whole wheat flour.  These cookies hold up very well to the whole wheat and I’ve even made them with all whole wheat in the past.

These are just waiting their turn in my tiny oven…when baking they need lots of space to spread out.

Yum.

 

One Response to “Grandma’s Soft Molasses Cookies”

  1. Natalie Says:

    Looks delicious! I’m so glad you like posting amazing recipes. 🙂


Leave a comment